<transcy>UGANDA - COMING SOON</transcy>

UGANDA - COMING SOON

Normal price
€13,00
Special Price
€13,00
Normal price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
VAT included.

Uganda - The Pearl of Africa.

The country with an indescribable landscape and rare wild animals is one of the largest coffee nations in the world. Still, when you think of high-quality Arabica coffee, Uganda is probably not the first thing you think of.

But appearances are deceptive, Uganda is on the advance and produces first-class premium coffees.

Uganda & Coffee


Coffee is Uganda's largest export. Around 1.7 million households are active in the coffee sector here. Although Robusta is mainly grown in Uganda, which makes up around 75-80% of the annual export volume, the proportion of high-quality Arabica is growing steadily. No wonder, because Uganda is rich in fertile volcanic soil and blessed with abundant rainfall.


In Uganda the majority (> 80%) of the harvest is produced by small farmers with less than 2.5 hectares of land. We were enthusiastic about the attention to detail of the farmers, who besides coffee usually entertain other cultures such as bananas. Thanks to these mixed cultures, the coffee can grow "cooled" in the shade of the trees.


We will get our coffees from the Mt. Elgon region bordering Kenya. The microclimate and terrain in this region is ideally suited for the production of high quality specialty coffee. Many of the mostly small farms are located at over 2000 m altitude, which makes very complex coffees possible.

The main harvest begins in October and we are excited to taste the first samples.


Tracking


The traceability is very good. In Uganda, Arabica coffee is typically grown by small farmers who have only a few hectares of land available. Unlike in countries such as Ethiopia, which are largely organized in trade unions, specialty coffee from Uganda can very often be traced back to the individual farm.

UGANDA - COMING SOON

UGANDA - COMING SOON

Normaler Preis
€13,00
Sonderpreis
€13,00
Normaler Preis
Coming soon
Einzelpreis
pro 
inkl. MwSt.

 Uganda - Die Perle Afrikas.

Das Land mit einer unbeschreiblichen Landschaft und seltenen wilden Tierwelt gehört zu den grössten Kaffeenationen der Welt. Dennoch denkt man bei hochwertigen Arabica-Kaffee wahrscheinlich nicht als erstes an Uganda. 

Doch der Schein trügt, Uganda ist auf dem Vormarsch und produziert erstklassige Spitzenkaffees.

 

Uganda & Kaffee


Kaffee ist das grösste Exportgut in Uganda. Etwa 1.7 Millionen Haushalte sind hier im Kaffeesektor tätig. Zwar wird in Uganda hauptsächlich Robusta angebaut, der etwa 75-80% des jährlichen Exportvolumen ausmacht, doch der Anteil an hochqualitativen Arabica wächst stetig. Kein Wunder, denn Uganda ist reich an fruchtbaren vulkanischen Boden und gesegnet mit reichlich Niederschlag.


In Uganda wird der grösste Teil (> 80%) der Ernte, von Kleinbauern mit weniger als 2.5 Hektar Land produziert. Wir waren begeistert von der Detailverliebtheit der Bauern, die neben Kaffee üblicherweise andere Kulturen wie z.B. Bananen unterhalten. Durch diese Mischkulturen kann der Kaffee „gekühlt" im Schatten der Bäume wachsen.


Wir werden unsere Kaffees aus der an Kenya grenzenden Region Mt. Elgon beziehen. Das Mikroklima und Terrain in dieser Region ist bestens geeignet für die Produktion von hochqualitativen Spezialitätenkaffee. Viele der meist kleine Farmen liegen in über 2000 m Höhenlagen was sehr komplexe Kaffees ermöglicht.

Die Haupternte beginnt im Oktober und wir sind schon gespannt die ersten Proben zu verkosten. 


Rückverfolgung


Die Rückverfolgung ist sehr gut. In Uganda wird Arabica Kaffee typischerweise von kleinen Bauern angebaut, die nur wenige Hektar Land zur Verfügung haben. Anders als in Ländern wie zum Beispiel Äthiopien, die grösstenteils in Gewerkschaften organisiert sind, lässt sich Spezialitätenkaffee aus Uganda sehr oft bis zur individuellen Farm rückverfolgen.