<transcy>RUANDA - COMING SOON</transcy>

RUANDA - COMING SOON

Normal price
€13,90
Special Price
€13,90
Normal price
<transcy>Coming Back Soon</transcy>
Unit price
per 
VAT included.

Rwanda - the land of a thousand hills.


Locals prefer tea here, and should also have the best milk in Africa. Coffee, on the other hand, was not of great importance for a long time and was notorious as a mass-produced product of low quality.

However, very complex coffees with extremely fruity notes have long been coming from Rwanda.


Rwanda & Coffee


German missionaries brought coffee to Rwanda in 1904. However, this only became economically relevant after the League of Nations awarded the country of Belgium. During the colonial rule of Belgium, many small farmers had to forcibly relocate for coffee. In addition, high taxes were imposed on producers for exports. The consequences: large quantities of green coffee of inferior quality.

The reputation that quantity is more important than quality was difficult for the country of Rwanda to abandon, also because the country lacked the infrastructure to produce really good coffees. In addition, a worldwide drop in prices and the largest genocide since World War II made the economic stability of Rwanda more difficult. In 100 days, nearly 1 million people (12% of the total population) were executed. As a result, coffee growing also suffered and almost came to a standstill in Rwanda.


Programs such as USAID & PEARL (today SPREAD) set up washing stations, promoted the transfer of knowledge and trained young farmers. With great success, since top coffees from Rwanda have long been among the best coffees in the world. In addition, the production of quality coffee (specialty coffee) is subsidized by the government and farmers benefit from higher wages and premium prices. Today almost 400,000 small farmers and families are employed in the coffee industry in Rwanda.


In May 2020 we visited some farms in Rwanda and are currently in the tasting phase. We will soon let you know what we have decided on.


backtracking

Since most farmers bring their cherries to cooperatives, tracing is usually only possible to the washing stations.

At Coffee Annan: tracing back to the washing station:

RUANDA - COMING SOON

RUANDA - COMING SOON

Normaler Preis
€13,90
Sonderpreis
€13,90
Normaler Preis
Coming soon
Einzelpreis
pro 
inkl. MwSt.

Ruanda - das Land der tausend Hügel. 


Einheimische bevorzugen hier lieber Tee, auch soll es  dort die beste Milch Afrikas geben. Kaffee hingegen hatte lange keine hohe Bedeutung und war verrufen als Massenware von geringer Qualität. 

Längst kommen aber sehr komplexe Kaffees mit äusserst fruchtigen Noten aus Ruanda. 


Ruanda & Kaffee


Deutsche Missionare haben 1904 Kaffee nach Ruanda gebracht. Wirtschaftlich relevant wurde dieser allerdings erst nach dem der Völkerbund das Land Belgien zusprach. Unter der Kolonialherrschaft Belgiens mussten viele Kleinbauern auf Kaffee zwangsumsiedeln. Zudem wurden den Produzenten für Exporte hohe Steuern auferlegt. Die Folgen: hohe Mengen Rohkaffee von minderwertiger Güte. 

Den ruf das Quantität wichtiger ist als Qualität konnte das Land Ruanda nur schwer ablegen, auch weil es dem Land an Infrastruktur fehlte um wirklich gute Kaffees herzustellen. Hinzu erschwerte ein weltweiter Preisverfall und der grösste Genozid seitdem 2. Weltkrieg die ökonomische Stabilität Ruandas. Binned 100 Tage wurden fast 1 Million Menschen (12 % der Gesamtbevölkerung) hingerichtet. Folglich litt auch der Kaffeeananbau und kam in Ruanda fast zum erliegen. 


Durch Programme wie USAID & PEARL (heute SPREAD) wurden Waschstationen errichtet, Wissenstransfer gefördert und Jungbauern ausgebildet. Mit grossem Erfolg, den längst reihen sich Spitzenkaffees aus Ruanda zu den besten Kaffees der Welt ein. Zudem wird die Produktion von Qualitätskaffee (Specialty Coffee) von der Regierung gefördert und Bauern profitieren von höheren Löhnen und Premiumpreisen. Heute sind in Ruanda fast 400.000 Kleinbauern & Familien in der Kaffeeindustrie beschäftigt. 


 

Im Mai 2020 haben wir einige Farmen in Ruanda besucht und sind zurzeit in der Verkostungsphase. Bald geben wir Bescheid wofür wir uns entschieden haben. 


 

Rückverfolgung

Da die meisten Bauern ihre Kirschen zu Genossenschaften bringen ist eine Rückverfolgung meistens nur bis zu den Waschstationen möglich. 

Bei Coffee Annan: Rückverfolgung bis zur Waschstation: