RWANDA

The land of a thousand hills.

Locals prefer tea here, and Rwanda is said to have the best milk in Africa. Coffee, on the other hand, was not of great importance for a long time and was notorious as a mass product of low quality.

However, very complex coffees with extremely fruity notes have long been coming from Rwanda.

Rwanda & Coffee

German missionaries brought coffee to Rwanda in 1904. However, this only became economically relevant after the National Assembly adjudged the country to Belgium. Under the colonial rule of Belgium, many small farmers were forced to cultivate coffee. In addition, high taxes were imposed on producers for exports. The consequences: large quantities of green coffee of inferior quality.

The reputation that quantity is more important than quality was difficult for the country of Rwanda to shed, also because the country lacked the infrastructure to produce really good coffees. In addition, a worldwide drop in prices and the largest genocide since World War II made the economic stability of Rwanda more difficult. In 100 days, nearly 1 million people (12% of the total population) were executed. As a result, coffee growing also suffered and almost came to a standstill in Rwanda.

Programs such as USAID & PEARL (today SPREAD) established washing stations, promoted the transfer of knowledge and trained young farmers. With great success, since top coffees from Rwanda have long been among the best coffees in the world. In addition, the production of quality coffee (specialty coffee) is subsidized by the government and farmers benefit from higher wages and premium prices. Today almost 400,000 smallholders and families are employed in the coffee industry in Rwanda.

Traceability

Since most farmers bring their cherries to cooperatives, tracing is usually only possible to the washing stations.

In May 2020 we visited some farms in Rwanda and roasted coffee with Mathias in Kigali. We are currently in the evaluation phase. Subscribe to our newsletter and find out what we have decided on.

RUANDA

Das Land der tausend Hügel.  

Einheimische bevorzugen hier lieber Tee, auch soll es  dort die beste Milch Afrikas geben. Kaffee hingegen hatte lange keine hohe Bedeutung und war verrufen als Massenware von geringer Qualität. 

Längst kommen aber sehr komplexe Kaffees mit äusserst fruchtigen Noten aus Ruanda. 

Ruanda & Kaffee

Deutsche Missionare haben 1904 Kaffee nach Ruanda gebracht. Wirtschaftlich relevant wurde dieser allerdings erst nach dem der Völkerbund das Land Belgien zusprach. Unter der Kolonialherrschaft Belgiens mussten viele Kleinbauern auf Kaffee zwangsumsiedeln. Zudem wurden den Produzenten für Exporte hohe Steuern auferlegt. Die Folgen: hohe Mengen Rohkaffee von minderwertiger Güte. 

Den Ruf das Quantität wichtiger ist als Qualität konnte das Land Ruanda nur schwer ablegen, auch weil es dem Land an Infrastruktur fehlte um wirklich gute Kaffees herzustellen. Hinzu erschwerte ein weltweiter Preisverfall und der grösste Genozid seitdem 2. Weltkrieg die ökonomische Stabilität Ruandas. Binned 100 Tage wurden fast 1 Million Menschen (12 % der Gesamtbevölkerung) hingerichtet. Folglich litt auch der Kaffeeananbau und kam in Ruanda fast zum erliegen. 

     

Durch Programme wie USAID & PEARL (heute SPREAD) wurden Waschstationen errichtet, Wissenstransfer gefördert und Jungbauern ausgebildet. Mit grossem Erfolg, den längst reihen sich Spitzenkaffees aus Ruanda zu den besten Kaffees der Welt ein. Zudem wird die Produktion von Qualitätskaffee (Specialty Coffee) von der Regierung gefördert und Bauern profitieren von höheren Löhnen und Premiumpreisen. Heute sind in Ruanda fast 400.000 Kleinbauern & Familien in der Kaffeeindustrie beschäftigt. 

Rückverfolgung

Da die meisten Bauern ihre Kirschen zu Genossenschaften bringen ist eine Rückverfolgung meistens nur bis zu den Waschstationen möglich.

Im Mai 2020 haben wir einige Farmen in Ruanda besucht und mit Mathias geröstet. Zurzeit sind wir in der Verkostungsphase. Trage dich in unseren Newsletter ein und erfahre wofür wir uns entschieden haben.