Climate Neutral

Anyone who works in the coffee business produces carbon dioxide, and not too little. Coffee itself is affected by climate change. Global warming will cut coffee production in half by 2050, and that with growing demand. Urgent action is needed to save the climate and coffee! 

Coffee Annan & Climate

The goal of Coffee Annan is to break up dusty and colonialistic value chains. By roasting in the respective countries of origin, we want to set an example and add value to coffee-producing countries. Achieving this goal must not be at the expense of the environment, which is why we offset our carbon footprint. 

1 - Analysis - Where do emissions occur, and how can we reduce them? 

The analysis helps us to recognize where we are good and where we have room for improvement. 

CO2 is created along the entire production chain, starting with the plantations, diesel combustion in processing plants, transport to the warehouse, roasting plant, etc. 

The roasting itself generates CO2 and, of course, the shipping to the end customer. In addition, there are customer visits, trips to the plantations and roasting plants, which result in CO2 production. 

2 - Reduction in everyday business. 

The best way to become a climate-neutral company is to avoid creating any CO2. As a coffee roaster, this is simply impossible, but we can already save a lot through mindfulness. The first measure we take is an efficient supply chain from the farm to the end customer to reduce transport. Through direct trade without intermediaries, we have significantly fewer intermediate steps than conventional coffee roasters. We try to work digitally as much as possible and also reduce customer visits. If visits to customers are essential, we travel by train whenever possible. 

When it comes to merchandise, we pay we use organic products and environmentally friendly printing inks. We pay attention to reducing plastic and that our packaging material has a high percentage of recycled materials. 

3 - Measure CO2. 

How many tons of CO2 we actually produce within a year can be calculated. We will publish our first sustainability report in January 2022. In it, we compensate for every single step in our value chain from the plantation to the end consumer and determine the actual amount of produced CO2. We will support environmental projects in the individual coffee countries we are operating to fully compensate caused CO2. #climate neutral 

4 - Be climate neutral. 

Our goal is to support our own climate project in every country in which we operate to achieve our goal of a climate-neutral coffee. In Ethiopia we chose the NGO “Menschen für Menschen”, which plants trees in the Amhara region. 

Project description - Menschen für Menschen: Compensating for CO2 emissions and fighting poverty. 

The aim of the project is to plant 1,000,000 trees and 60,000 fruit trees within three years. As a result, the atmosphere can be relieved of more than 58,000 tons of CO2 in ten years. At the same time, the project offers the poorest families new life prospects. 

Local smallholders raise the seedlings in the foundation's nurseries. A total of 24 different types of trees will be transplanted to promote biodiversity. They are planted saplings on slopes, in narrow valleys, ditches and gullies. The trees not only bind climate-damaging CO2, but also act as protection against erosion and water storage because the rapid drainage of precipitation is prevented. Around 32,000 people in Ethiopia benefit directly from this program, which trains smallholders to achieve good yields despite climate changes.

Klimaneutral

CO2-Schleuder Kaffee. Wer im Kaffeegeschäft tätig ist, produziert Kohlendioxid und das nicht zu knapp. Dabei ist Kaffee selbst vom Klimawandel betroffen. Durch die Erderwärmung wird sich die Kaffeeproduktion bis 2050 halbieren und das bei wachsender Nachfrage. Dringendes Handeln ist erforderlich für die Rettung des Klimas und des Kaffees!

Coffee Annan & Klima 

Ziel von Coffee Annan ist es verstaubte und vom Kolonialismus geprägte Handelsketten aufzubrechen. Durch Rösten in den jeweiligen Ursprungsländern wollen wir ein Zeichen setzen und die Wertschöpfung in den Anbauländern lassen. Dieses Ziel zu erreichen darf nicht zu Lasten der Umwelt stattfinden, daher kompensieren wir unseren CO2-Fussabdruck.

1 - Analyse - Wo entstehen Emissionen und wie können wir diese reduzieren?

Die Analyse hilft uns zu erkennen wo wir gut sind und wo wir Verbesserungspotential haben. CO2 entsteht entlang der gesamten Produktionskette angefangen bei den Plantagen, Dieselverbrennung an Aufbereitungsanlagen, dem Transport zu Warenlager, Rösterei etc. Das Rösten selbst erzeugt CO2 und natürlich auch der Versand zum Endkunden. Hinzukommen Reisen zu den Plantagen und Röstereien sowie Kundenbesuche, welche zur CO2-Bilanz beitragen. 

2 - Reduktion im Alltagsgeschäft.

Der beste Weg zur klimaneutralen Firma ist es kein CO2 entstehen zu lassen. Als Kaffeeröster ist dies schlicht unmöglich aber wir können durch Achtsamkeit bereits einiges einsparen. Als erste Massnahme steht bei uns eine effiziente Lieferkette von der Farm zum Endkunden um Transporte zu verringern. Durch direkten Handel ohne Mittelsmänner haben wir deutlich weniger Zwischenschritte als konventionelle Kaffeeröster. Wir versuchen uns möglichst digital aufzustellen und auch Kundenbesuche zu reduzieren. Sind Besuche beim Kunden wirklich notwendig, reisen wir wenn immer möglich mit der Bahn. 

Beim Merchandise achten wir auf biologische Produkte und umweltfreundliche Druckfarben. Wir achten auf Reduktion von Plastik und darauf dass unser Verpackungsmaterial einen hohen Recyclinganteil hat.

3 - CO2 Messen.

Wieviel Tonnen CO2 wir innerhalb eines Jahres tatsächlich produzieren lässt sich berechnen. Im Januar 2022 werden wir unseren ersten Nachhaltigkeitsbericht veröffentlichen. Darin beleuchten wir jeden einzelnen Schritt in unserer Wertschöpfungskette von der Plantage bis zum Endverbraucher und bestimmen die tatsächliche Menge an produzierten CO2. Die verursachte Mengen werden wir durch die Unterstützung von Umweltprojekten in den einzelnen Kaffeeländern kompensieren. #klimaneutral

4 - Klimaneutral sein. 

Unser Ziel ist in jedem Land in dem wir tätig sind ein eigenes Klimaprojekt zu unterstützen um unser Ziel eines klimaneutralen Kaffees zu erreichen. In Äthiopien haben wir uns für die NGO „Menschen für Menschen“ entschieden, die in der Region Amhara Bäume pflanzt.  

Projektbeschreibung - Menschen für Menschen: CO2 - Ausstoss kompensieren und Armut bekämpfen. 

 

Ziel des Projektes ist es innerhalb von drei Jahren 1.000.000 Bäume und 60.000 Obstbäume zu pflanzen. Dadurch lässt sich die Atmosphäre in zehn Jahren um mehr als 58.000 Tonnen CO2 entlasten. Gleichzeitig bietet das Projekt den ärmsten Familien neue Lebensperspektiven. 

Einheimische Kleinbauern ziehen die Setzlinge in Baumschulen der Stiftung auf. Insgesamt werden 24 verschiedene Baumsorten verpflanzt um die Biodiversität zu fördern. Gepflanzt werden sie Setzlinge an Hängen, in engen Tälern, Gräben und Rinnen. So binden die Bäume nicht nur klimaschädliches CO2, sondern wirken gleichzeitig als Erosionsschutz und Wasserspeicher, die das schnelle Abfliessen von Niederschlag verhindern. Insgesamt profitieren etwa 32.000 Menschen in Äthiopien direkt von diesem Program, das Kleinbauern schult trotz Klimaveränderungen gute Erträge zu erlangen.